About Us

Dorchester Human Development Board was established in 1979 by Dorchester County.  The purpose of the agency was to assume the responsibility for programs that the county was operating that were of a “social service” nature.  The name Dorchester Seniors, Inc. was approved at the September 22, 2004 Board of Directors meeting and the name Dorchester Seniors, Inc. received official state approval on November 29, 2004.

Core Values:  Respect, Inclusion, Excellence, and Responsiveness.

Our Vision: A Dorchester County where adults 50+ are empowered to achieve their highest quality of life.

Our Locations

Summerville Location

The Faith Sellers Senior Center

The Faith Sellers Senior Center, located in Summerville is 16,000 sq. ft. and opened in August 2002.

On October 20, 2005, the Dorchester County Senior Center was renamed the Faith Sellers Senior Center to honor Mrs. Sellers’ years of dedicated work on behalf of the senior citizens of Dorchester County and to make the dream of a senior center a reality. The center has a large 5000 sq. ft. multi-purpose room, as well as small multi-purpose rooms, a commercial kitchen, gym room, computer lab, library, and billiard room.

St. George Location

The David Sojourner Senior Center

The David Sojourner Senior Center, located in St. George is named for the former mayor of St. George in recognition of his dedicated service to the town. 

It opened in February 2002 with the formal dedication occurring on May 31, 2002.  The center is 5,000 sq. ft. and the building includes a computer lab, large and small multi-purpose rooms, and a small kitchen, gym room, and library.

Our Staff

Leigh Thomson

Executive Director

lthomson@dorchesterseniors.com

LaQuinta West

Deputy Director

lwest@dorchesterseniors.com

Bonnie Sanford

Center Manager – St. George

bsanford@dorchesterseniors.com

Beth Greene

Center Manager – Summerville

bgreene@dorchesterseniors.com

Kristina Clemens

Finance Manager

kclemens@dorchesterseniors.com

Dominique Smith

Facilities Manager

dsmith@dorchesterseniors.com

Jerome Shannon

Nutrition Manager

jshannon@dorchesterseniors.com

Ivory Morton-Harrison

Programs Manager

iharrison@dorchesterseniors.com

Community Resources

We have compiled a list of agencies that specifically assist seniors in the community.

Please click on the image to view their website.

Font Resize